Why is a new product created when I create a bundle?
This is how the BundleBuilder app works. When you create a bundle a ghost product is created in your store’s admin. This allows us to ensure the inventory is synced correctly when someone purchases the bundle.
Why is a new variant added when someone purchases a bundle?
When a customer checkouts they will see a unique bundle number attached to their order. This is added as a variant in your store’s admin. We need the unique Bundle numbers stored in the admin along with the sale and bundle contents information to ensure all your products and variants inventory are synced correctly.
Can I change the name ‘Bundle #’?
Yes. You can change the prefix/wording of 'Bundle #' in the app at the bottom of the page when you create the bundle.
How do you show the individual products that make up the bundle in the cart, instead of just the product bundle?
We use Shopify's line item properties to show customers in their email receipts and order confirmations what their individual bundles contain, and some merchants use this to help fulfil orders. If you set the line item properties to show in your theme and email templates you can see the bundle contents listed out like this example screenshot (taken from our demo store selling fruit):
Bundle items are shown in the cart, but not as seperate products
Shopify have a handy guide on how to integrate the line item properties here:
We can not show the items as individual products in the cart as having the 'bundle product' is how we manage inventories, discounts, etc. that wouldn't be possible if the items were separate. i.e. if there was a minimum of 5 products per bundle, once added to the cart the customer could remove one/all.
Where can I see the SKU for each product in the bundle?
Individual product SKUs should show up by default in the 'Orders' section of your Shopify admin when someone places an order for a bundle.
Why can't I change the setting from 'Single' to 'Multiple' after creating a bundle?
Once a bundle has been created, this setting cannot be changed, but you can create a new bundle if this is needed.